Oscar Nominations 2020: Surprises and Snubs

It’s finally here! Oscar nominations 2020 have been announced, and film fans everywhere are both excited for their nominated faves and outraged for those who have been snubbed.

Honestly, it’s a good thing when there are too many great films in a single year for all of them to get Oscar attention. But still, many were shocked to find that Greta Gerwig did not receive a Best Director nomination for her sumptuous adaptation of Little Women. (No female directors were nominated.) On the acting side, Awkwafina, who won a Golden Globe for her performance in The Farewell, was not even nominated for an Oscar.

Other snubs: Adam Sandler for Uncut Gems; Robert Deniro for The Irishman; Jennifer Lopez for Hustlers; Beyonce for her original song “Spirit” in The Lion King.

But plenty of stars do have a reason to celebrate. Scarlett Johnansson received her first Academy Award nomination – AND her second! She was nominated for Best Actress for her performance in Marriage Story as well as Best Supporting Actress for he role in Jojo Rabbit.

Parasite director Bong Joon-Ho has also been nominated for the first time – he’ll compete in the Best Director, Best screenplay and Best Picture categories. Rian Johnson, who wrote the screenplay for Knives Out, also received his first Academy Award nomination.

Overall, Joker received the most 2020 Oscar nominations, showing up in 11 categories, including Best Picture.

Here are the major 2020 Academy Award nominations:

Best Picture

Ford v Ferrari (Fox), Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping and James Mangold, Producers
The Irishman (Netflix), Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers
Jojo Rabbit (Fox Searchlight), Carthew Neal and Taika Waititi, Producers
Joker (Warner Bros.), Todd Phillips, Bradley Cooper and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers
Little Women (Sony), Amy Pascal, Producer
Marriage Story (Netflix), Noah Baumbach and David Heyman, Producers
1917 (Universal), Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren and Callum McDougall, Producers
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (Sony), David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh and Quentin Tarantino, Producers
Parasite (Neon), Kwak Sin Ae and Bong Joon Ho, Producers

Best Actress

Cynthia Erivo (Harriet)
Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)
Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)
Charlize Theron (Bombshell)
Renée Zellweger (Judy)

Best Actor

Antonio Banderas (Pain and Glory)
Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Adam Driver (Marriage Story)
Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)
Jonathan Pryce (The Two Popes)

Best Supporting Actress

Kathy Bates (Richard Jewell)
Laura Dern (Marriage Story)
Scarlett Johansson (Jojo Rabbit)
Florence Pugh (Little Women)
Margot Robbie (Bombshell)

Best Supporting Actor

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Al Pacino (The Irishman)
Joe Pesci (The Irishman)
Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood)
Anthony Hopkins (The Two Popes)

Best Director

Bong Joon Ho, Parasite
Sam Mendes, 1917
Todd Phillips, Joker
Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
Joker, Todd Phillips & Scott Silver
Little Women, Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten

Best Original Screenplay

1917, Sam Mendes & Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Knives Out, Rian Johnson
Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino
Parasite, Bong Joon Ho & Jin Won Han

Best International Film

Corpus Christi (Poland)
Honeyland (North Macedonia)
Les Misérables (France)
Pain and Glory (Spain)
Parasite (South Korea)

Best Documentary Feature

American Factory (Netflix), Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert and Jeff Reichert
The Cave (National Geographic), Feras Fayyad, Kirstine Barfod and Sigrid Dyekjaer
The Edge of Democracy (Netflix), Petra Costa, Joanna Natasegara, Shane Boris and Tiago Pavan
For Sama (PBS), Waad al-Kateab and Edward Watts
Honeyland (Neon), Ljubo Stefanov, Tamara Kotevska and Atanas Georgiev

Best Animated Feature

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (Dreamworks), Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis and Bonnie Arnold
I Lost My Body (Netflix), Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice
Klaus (Netflix), Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh and Marisa Román
Missing Link (United Artists Releasing), Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner and Travis Knight
Toy Story 4 (Pixar), Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera

Best Cinematography

1917, Roger Deakins
The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
Joker, Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Robert Richardson

Best Original Song

“I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away,” Toy Story 4, Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
“(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again,” Rocketman, Music by Elton John; Lyric by Bernie Taupin
“I’m Standing With You,” Breakthrough, Music and Lyric by Diane Warren
“Into the Unknown,” Frozen II, Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
“Stand Up,” Harriet, Music and Lyric by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo

The 92nd Academy Awards will air Sunday, Feb. 9 on ABC.

Who do you think will win this year? What were the worst snubs? Sound off in the comments below!

In The Industry